Rereading The Language of God (& signed book giveaway!)

Jim talks about rereading The Language of God, and talks a bit about why it’s not only important to him, but also to our organization.

We are also hosting a giveaway of signed copies from Francis himself, so be sure to check the link to enter to win a copy.

Ironically, though I have the book now and I’m reading through it, I did not find out about BioLogos because of the book. I found out about it by first coming to the conclusions that much of the Bible is a fictional tale pointing towards the truth that God is our God. Which made it easier for no issue with evolution which I already believed but never tackled. As mentioned before one of the elders I studied under was a scientist and mentioned it as a potential interpretation. Just accepted it and then really dig into the textual reasons why I now believe that.

So with all of that I was listening to another podcast called, The Bible Project, and they mentioned some name that I don’t remember now because when I went to search for it Francis Collin’s name came up and I googled that and saw some of the stuff he said and then looked BioLogos up on iTunes.

2 Likes

How did you come to the conclusion that much of the Bible is a fictional tale/what does that mean exactly? I think that carries some heavy connotations with it that many can find inconsistent with the idea that there can be truth found in the text of any kind.

2 Likes

It’s the same as what the majority in here seem to believe. That the creation account, and even accounts like Jonah are not actually scientifically or historically accurate. That it’s some for of figurative fictional tale that points towards God.