Before you click “send”: The Information Literacy Thread

As a librarian, I work with information, not only as a source of answers to questions, but as something to be evaluated in itself. While having access to information is essential to an open society, so is developing the skills needed to evaluate the likelihood that information is reliable, accurate, timely, appropriate, useful, etc.

I hope that this thread can be a useful place where people can share their information literacy techniques, tools and stories. Eventually, it could be a valuable resource for other lay-people who are interested in improving their ability to deal with the overwhelming amount of information they face constantly.

Share the good, bad and ugly of experiences you’ve had receiving references to scientific or “scientific” information, AND how you dealt with the “gift.”

And please, share resources and tools you find useful for evaluating research articles, or any other source that comes across your screen.

3 Likes

Here are a few good websites, some from college libraries, aimed at helping people figure out how to deal with an article that crosses their screen:

Quite Thorough:

and

Quick and DIrty

and something Excellent from the UK

4 Likes

Joel Duff often includes outstanding information literacy components to his videos. This video knocked it out of the park.

Time stamps for Joel Duff’s Video “Let’s Talk About Peer Review” aka “What’s Wrong and Right with Peer Review?”

00:00 Discussion of a retracted article in a open-source, peer-reviewed journal

16:55 Problems associated with open-source, peer-reviewed journals

24:25 Discussion of predatory journals as a business model and a degradation of the peer review process.

25:53 Red flags that indicate an article may not be trustworthy

29:13 How predatory journal editors can abuse their positions as editors; how this practice reinforces the bad reputations of these journals among serious scientists.