A PhD and wisdom

As a PhD student myself, I am disappointed that a PhD seems to mean something different, and perhaps “cheaper” than it used to. Obviously, a PhD is a doctorate of philosophy (in a more general sense such as “love of wisdom,” not philosophy as a discipline). When the public hears the word “doctor,” they often look at this term with a level of respect or authority, and there are certainly academics worthy of this reverence.

My concern is that modern-day PhD students (at least in the sciences) are not taught much about “wisdom” as much as just applied research and how to get publications. Perhaps the assumption is someone needs to be “wise” in order to perform original research, however even if this is true, publications would only be a subset of the overall field of wisdom (which could also include self-reflection, character/morals, etc).

Someone can publish original work in a specified field (and convince a committee of their professors that the work is good/original) without needing to be “wise” in a general sense. Perhaps this can even give them a false sense of confidence about their ability to understand work outside of their area of expertise.

Do you have any thoughts? Does a PhD mean anything reasonable or consistent besides just being able to do research?

3 Likes

Does it even guarantee that?

I don’t have a ph.d and never will. But I guess in general when I hear someone is a doctor, to me that means that they are up to date on the subject they’ve studied and they should have a basis for understanding how research works in it and are able to go out and preform related duties at a excellent level. They will still need to continue staying on top of their game through updated research, technology and skills.

It also means to me that it’s someone who should be at college level in core academic practices such as being proficient in math, language mechanics and so on.