Why is Bart Ehrman wrong?

Bart Ehrman argues (very graciously) that there are many inconsistencies between the Gospels which makes them unreliable.

He also argues that the early New Testament writings portray Jesus less as God (e.g. Mark) and the later writings (John / Paul) portray Jesus more as God. He argues that the followers of Jesus attributed the characteristics of God over time as it better suited their arguments. His conclusions are that Jesus was not God and he has become an agnostic.

If others have greater scholarship in this area and want to correct my understanding of his work, please do so, I am not an expert. I do enjoy listening to him and typically learn as I do, I think his video on the gospel of Judas was very interesting.

So then, why is he wrong?

1 Like

My argument why Bart Ehrman is wrong is multi-faceted.

First the Gospels are not written as historic documents, they were written to convey theological doctrine to a specific audience (Mark to the Romans, Luke to the Greeks, Matthew to the Jews). The sequence of events is not critical to the doctrine at all. Also, I believe the recorded events in Jesus life were just the “tip of the iceberg”. Specific event occurred multiple times and may have had different participants (e.g. the woman who washed Jesus feet with her tears). The people who went to the tomb is a source of inconsistency, who went to the tomb and when? In the Schofield reference Bible, a composit narrative was created from the perspective of combining the different accounts, I believe this is the most accurate representation.

My most important point is that even if the New Testament was to be completely eliminated, it would not change my faith as the “Master Gospel” is all in the Old Testament. This is the template against which all the Gospels should be compared. The complete incarnation, life, substitutionary death and resurrection are all there. This is why I see danger in classifying the Old Testament as allegorical.