Why I don't like the term "evolutionist"

Continuing the discussion from The Popular Use of "Creationist" and "Creationism" in American Debates over Origins:

I think this is an important question, but it looks like the discussion has (very quickly) moved in a different direction since you posted, so I’m starting a new thread.

I don’t agree with folks like Ken Ham about many things, but I do agree with them that it’s important for all Christians to be creationists, in the sense that they full-heartedly affirm God as creator of all things. I also agree that who (or what) we credit as ultimate creator has many consequences in how we see the meaning of life. Of course, I disagree with young-earthers about what it means to be a creationist, but I like their emphasis on the importance of creation.

I’m not an expert on the history of the origins discussion (that would be @TedDavis), but my sense from my limited knowledge is that “evolutionist” and “creationist” developed as opposites of each other in the early 20th century as a result of complex cultural and religious factors. “Evolutionist” should theoretically just mean “one who accepts evolutionary theory”, just as “Copernican” means “one who accepts the science of Copernicus about earth’s place in the solar system.” In that sense, there’s no linguistic conflict between creationist and evolutionist. If one can be a Copernican creationist, why not an evolutionary creationist? But, of course, “evolutionist” became to symbolize a way of looking at the world that prioritized evolution (and science generally) over revelation. I have an old (1928) book on my personal shelf called “Creation by Evolution”, written by scientists and liberal clergy. In that book, it’s made brutally clear that modern science, and in particular evolutionary theory, has removed God to the periphery of creation. In fact, “Nature” and the “Universe” (note the capitalization) are mentioned far more than God. And orthodox beliefs about creation and e