The science behind Cancer Immunotherapy

Continuing a discussion from another thread:

In post 16 of that thread we read the incredible story of @Ani99 (Kyrani Eade), who experienced a spontaneous remission of stage 4, metastatic ovarian cancer:

In Sydney I was diagnosed with stage 4 ovarian cancer with metastases to the uterus, cervix, bowel and both lungs. AND type 2 diabetes as there were high blood sugars. “Nothing we can do for you” they said. I wasn’t about to give up on my life so I went to a Chinese herbalist and I believed back then that they helped because by early 1994 after more tests the doctors found no evidence of disease. I really believed that the Chinese herbs cured me but a decade later I realized that I must have had a spontaneous remission of the cancer the first time.

For those who do not know me, I am a PhD immunologist. You can read my bio at the end of this article that I recently wrote here for BioLogos about vaccine safety. I currently work in the field of immuno oncology, so I thought readers on this Forum might enjoy some links that I could give you about this field of research at the intersection of oncology and immunology, which has led to new clinical medicines.

Although spontaneous cancer remissions are rare, they are known to happen.
Kyrani’s story reminded me of a couple patient experiences described by oncologist, Steven Rosenberg, MD-PhD, which led him to believe that the immune system could be harnessed to fight cancer.

I became very interested in this when I was a resident in surgery at the Peter Bent Brigham Hospital in Boston, where I ran into two extraordinary cases that had a considerable impact on me.