Speculation on intervention by God

I’m new to BioLogos so my thought may have been expressed before. I did scan through some earlier topics on intervention.
I believe God created the Big Bang and all the matter, energy, and natural processes and law by which it would enfold. ButI’m wondering if then He let go as He commanded. No God-guided mutations or directed asteroids or anything other than natural processes, until a new species of pre-humans evolved. In Earth years that would have some 14+ billions later, but to God it may have been a moment. Then for some reason He wanted a love relationship. Maybe He saw how good it was in watching His animals care for their offspring? He “adopted” those pre-humans and supernaturally transformed them into humans, a group who would be able to know and love him in return…a group of humans who have a souls/spirits and free will and consciences. Thereafter natural processes like evolution continued but because of love, God intervened and continues to intervene in any way He wished.
Granted that it’s hard to fathom the will and actions of God but He delights in our efforts. Are these new ideas? Who has written about them in more detail? What do you think about them?

John Piper talks about God’s motivation in his The Pleasures of God, which is actually a prequel to his seminal book, Desiring God. I don’t know offhand where he stands with respect to evolution, but you may have noticed that I am a firm believer in God’s intervening providence, not at all that it is scientifically detectable. A frequent M.O. is empirically detectable, though, in the lives of his children, and I have reason to believe he has intervened similarly with respect to evolution, not that we can know when or where.

A favorite verse of mine speaks to Jesus’ motivation, and I think God’s overall motivation, too, in creating the cosmos: