Science and the Bible!

Hi everyone, hope all is well and that everyone is staying safe! I am a high school student who attends a Christian school and I had a few questions about the relationship between science and the Bible. I personally believe in Young Earth Creation (YEC) and was wondering how the Old Earth Creationists and Evolutionary Creationists view the Bible in a scientific way because the Bible doesn’t really talk about this. Also, I was wondering how people can believe both in evolution and the Bible when they sometimes contradict. Thank you to everyone who replies!

5 Likes

Hi, Nathaniel - and welcome!

You are correct that much that is now known or discussed in modern science isn’t found in scriptures - it would be highly anachronistic (out of place, and meaningless to original audiences) if it did!

“Contradiction” turns out to be in the eye of the beholder for much of this because, as you’ve already noted, the Bible is silent on the scientific sorts of “how it was done” details. There are some who would disagree of course, and insist that Genesis 2 discussing God forming Adam from the clay of the ground is specifying exactly how it was done. But this presumes a certain kind of reading of scripture to draw that conclusion. When scriptures use anthropomorphic language for God - most of us don’t take that to mean that God is like a man who would kneel in the dirt and use human-like hands to mold something in clay much like we could imagine ourselves doing. We don’t assume such scriptural metaphor must be taken literally any more than referring to God as “our rock” or as “our fortress” must mean God is literally those things either.