New insights on defining "biblical kinds"!

Hello everyone,

I’m a computer programmer in the field of genetic algorithms and artificial neural networks and a hobbyist computer musician. I programmed a genetic algorithm to control synthesizers using the MIDI protocol to actually breed sounds out of different kinds of synthesizers. What I noticed to my surprise was that different synthesis methods could generate exactly the same sounds, hence their variation potentials overlapped. This discovery later led me to the idea that, what has been established as “analogous evolution”, could actually be a by-design effect of that overlap of variation ranges due to recombination and epigenetics - completely without mutations at work.
Please read my hypothesis and give it some feedback.
Thank you.

1 Like

Welcome to the forum. Interesting ideas your have here. After a quick skim here are my immediate h the thoughts.

Personally, it would be good to have a bit more detail about your methodology. Why did you choose this experiment? How did it work (in detail)? Why you think programmed MIDI synthesisers were a good analogy for evolutionary processes? Etc. Etc. Does that make sense?

More may thoughts to follow once I’ve digested it a bit.

As an aside, I think you are (genuinely) courageous to post this on the forum and get some opinions from those who think differently. A word to the wise though, brace for impact, some people here (including professional biologists) will likely not hold back (though will hopefully respond graciously). So long as you are ready for a robust defence of your paper, this should be a very helpful process for you.