Leaving fundamentalist faith and the compatibility of Christianity and evolution (spin-off)

Don’t be afraid of losing a fundmentalist faith. Think of finding a sensible a reasonable one. I have been a Christian and a scientist for most of my adult life. I gave up on fundementalism and never looked back. Don’t let anyone make you think that gaining a Christian -Evolutionist faith is a road to atheism and clinging to fundamentalism is then only anchor. Fundamentalism is more dangerous to faith than a reasonable faith that takes into account moderm discoveries
Blessings on your journey!

3 Likes

Implicit in your brief post are several bad assumptions. Let me focus on three of them:

1. Christianity and (the grand claims of ) evolution are compatible. The short answer: they are not

2. "Dont let anyone make you think that gaining a Christian-evolutionist faith is a road to atheism"
    For goodness sake, that very fear was the entire reason the young lady reached out in the first place. And for what it’s worth, I and many many others can bear personal witness to the fact that, yes it does.

3. Fundamentalism and reasonable faith are not compatible. What a wickedly dangerous claim! If fundamentalism means believing that 2 Timothy 3: 16 is true ( a fine definition of fundamentalism, if you ask me ), you are saying that reasonable faith is not compatible with the Word of God.

Do not take His name (Christian) in vain!

p.s. modern discoveries have revealed how very much beyond the reach of purely natural processes life really is. Modern discoveries testify that life requires a Creator. Praise God!

Hello @deliberateresult.

@cosmicscotus may or may not be right about fundamentalism, but your definition of fundamentalist faith is just wrong.

For example, I am not a fundamentalist, and I entirely believe “All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness,” (II Tim 3:16)