Learning a foreign language with hearing loss

Hi all! Sorry if the question is off topic. My question is related to medicine and education, so I took the risk of asking it here. I have moderate to severe hearing loss (68 decibels). I would like to start learning a foreign language. I speak my native language well, understand speech well at close range, and can watch videos. I studied in a regular school with hearing children. Then I studied at the university. Now I have decided to try to enter a university in Poland. But I’m afraid that I won’t be able to learn the language. Is it worth starting and is it possible to learn a language with moderate to severe hearing loss? Are there any teachers here who have experience teaching people with hearing loss? Is it possible? I have no problems with writing, grammar, reading, even pronunciation is good, but I have problems with listening. I will be very grateful for your answers. Thank you!

1 Like

My hearing isn’t great either, yet I managed to learn several languages(to various degrees, I might add, I’m not necessarily fluent in all of them). And I can relate to a lot of what you’re describing, so I really can’t see a problem here.

I’m originally from Poland. I don’t live there, so I don’t think I can offer you any technical advice on universities there, but if you want to chat privately with me about it, fell free to PM me.

2 Likes