In crisis, and suffering greatly

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting but I’ve been reading posts every so often for over a year. I’m a 28 year old mother with a 19 month old baby. And I’m going through a tough time. I’ve been seeing some doctors about an undiagnosed, possible health issue. I hate to even type the words, but I’m afraid that I could have ALS. Just thinking about it horrifies me. I don’t know how I haven’t lost my mind yet. My baby is the only reason I put one foot in front of the other. But it all seems so pointless if this is all there is. If there is no God and no hope. Why even try? If that’s the case, I almost wish I had never even existed. I say almost because I will never regret having my daughter. Even if that is my fate, it all would have been worth it just to have her.
But I desperately want God to be real. I need Jesus to be who He says He is. But I’m having such a hard time believing it. I can’t even pray because I’m afraid to be disappointed. I’m afraid of getting my hopes up. I know atheists look down on religious people, saying that we use our religion as a crutch. I use to push back against that idea. But it’s absolutely true for me now. I need Jesus to be everything He says he is. But I’m having a hard time convincing myself because I’m in so much pain. If it weren’t my daughter, I seriously would consider doing something drastic.
I come to this forum and read to try to get some encouragement. But it seems like half the people aren’t even believers in Jesus. It’s honestly a blow to my faith, and I come away discouraged more often than not. Is there anyone that can give me a good apology of the faith or point me to a good resource? If there’s anyone here that is solid in their faith and really knows Jesus, could you pray for me and make intercession please? Please pray for me like you’ve never prayed before. I’m so desperate and spiraling right now. Thank you for listening to me.

12 Likes