If Genesis isn't literal history, why believe anything in the Bible?

Hi, everyone. This is my first time commenting on this site, and I’m afraid my thoughts aren’t going to be very popular here.

I don’t think any of the OEC folks have made any rude or mean comments here, but in reading through them, I get the feeling that many theistic evolutionists have a tendency to view YEC folks as intellectually and/or theologically inferior, and I think that’s unfortunate. I realize that this is a large debate, and maybe this isn’t the place for it—not to mention that it’s quite time-consuming—but I wonder, for example, if any of you have given much time to reading the broad range of articles on answersingenesis.org or creation.com. There’s a lot of great info there from Ph.D. scientists who are also youth Earth creationists.

Some of my primary thoughts on this subject, in a nutshell:

If people aren’t going to believe that Jesus is the Son of God who miraculously rose from the dead, then they’re not going to believe it. Period. They will come to that decision regardless of whether they’re told that the Flood story is true or merely metaphor.

However, I think they’re less likely to believe that the story of Jesus is literal truth if they are under the impression that other narrative parts of the Bible are not literal truth. After all, how can some narrative portions be true but others not?

One question I like to ask theistic evolutionists: At what point in the narrative does Genesis become literally true? After chapter 11? But if Noah wasn’t a real person who survived a real, worldwide flood, how can you say that Abraham was a real person? And if Abraham wasn’t real, how could Jacob be? Where do you draw the line? How do you draw that line? Modern secular science, in addition to claiming evolution, says that dead people don’t come back to life and people don’t walk on water, so does that mean the Gospel narratives are not literally true, either?