Idea of Evolution and Creation combined or non-existant

Hello good chaps, I am currently a high school student studying at a Christian based school. In our bible class, we are discussing the ideas of how the origins of life began and about if evolution is the solution to how current life was formed. Personally, my belief is that God created everything in the beginning but evolution happened to create the society we have today through natural selection. Now some of you might beg to differ, saying that the big bang started all this or evolution never existed. Are you also 50/50, or do you take one side more than the other? Evolution by science or creation by God? Your feedback will be well appreciated! Thank you!

Hi Chorrizo, and welcome to the forum. I also believe that God created everything, and that evolution is the name we give the biological process of his creation. I don’t think there needs to be any conflict between science and God, because learning about science is simply learning about the way that God made things. “All truth is God’s truth” is a helpful way for me to think of it. So I don’t have a problem believing in something like the big bang, but I believe it’s simply our description of what God did – it did not just randomly happen on its own.

1 Like

yes, but do you think that the big bang is how the universe was created and that God created the big bang? To me, I think that the explanation at the beginning of Genesis is the truth of how everything came to be.

I guess I don’t see a conflict between them. For all I know, the big bang could simply be the result of God saying “Let there be light.”

Its not mentioned in the bible though, the big bang is just a theory created by scientists, so how can we combine that with God’s will? We don’t know really how except whatever the bible states