Explanation of Vegetarianism in Genesis 1:29-30

Hello, I am a Biology student in college. I am currently straddling the line of believing Theistic Evolution and literal 6-day creation. My question is, how would a theistic evolutionist explain the verses in Genesis that say,

““And God said, “Behold, I have given you every tree with seed in its fruit. YOu shall have them for food. And to every beast of the earth and to every bird of the heavens and to everything that creeps on the earth, everything that has the breath of life, I have given every green plant for food.” And it was so.””

To me that seems like God is saying that no meat would be eaten. Again, I am not against the idea of an evolution guided by God, but simply trying to understand and figure out what I believe. Thanks

1 Like

I take it as descriptive, not prescriptive. The source of life, and provision, and bounty is God. He provides and cares for his creation.

Here is a more detailed write-up of a possible answer to your question, with Scriptural support from elsewhere in the Bible.

Welcome to the BioLogos forum, by the way. :monkey_face:

Ah, thank you!

This instruction in Genesis 1 is almost unique in the Old Testament. It has a counterpart in Genesis 9:3, where meat is now expressly given to Noah and his descendants. However, the only other place in the Old Testament where a vegetarian diet is represented as superior to eating meat, is in Daniel 1:3-15. This is no surprise if you understand (as I do), that Genesis 1-11 were written in Babylon during the exile, most likely by Daniel himself. This makes a lot more sense of the instruction in Genesis 1; it’s part of Daniel’s anti-pagan polemic.

@Jonathan_Burke,

As I have mentioned on another thread, you and I are one of the few that happily place large portions of the Biblical text in the POST-EXILIC period. And so I always hope we can find MORE areas of agreement over time…

Below is a portion from the Wiki article on the book of Daniel: