Christian Ethics in Embryotic Stem Cell Research

Hi, my name is Mason (despite my goofy username) and I’m a freshman in high school.

In my Biology class, we have a project where we have to make a five minute presentation on biotechnology. From the list of available topics, I chose Embryotic Stem Cells. I did this because I’ve heard atheist criticism regarding Christians and this topic and I wanted to find more.

Being in a Christian school, we have to include a Christian ethical perspective on the topic from someone deep in the faith like a theologian. Do any of you happen to have articles or posts of any theologians’ perspective?

Thank you!

3 Likes

Hi, Mason, and welcome to the forum!

I’m a science teacher at a Christian School (math and physical sciences rather than life sciences, though), but I’m familiar with the landscape.

You can certainly search Biologos for articles on embryonic stem cells. Just click the resources button at the upper right of the main site (or use the link I just provided). And then you can type in search words (magnifying glass) or just peruse articles by topic. By typing in “Cell” as a search, I found this one that might cover some areas of interest for you. Being from 2013 it might be a bit dated given the pace of that field lately. But for high school level, I imagine you may be leaning more for overview than anything getting overly technical?

And there are many knowledgeable scientists (from the life sciences no less) who could answer questions as technically involved as you could want. And of course we are here to give support and encouragement generally where we can.

May you find your time here fruitful.

1 Like