Carbon 14 Dating

Hello all!

I’m new to the forum. I’m currently a student at an SBC seminary. Over the last year and a half I have undergone a pretty large paradigm shift in my thinking, theology, etc.

I have all but accepted EC personally in that time. I did my undergrad in Exercise Science and had some biology courses, etc. The reason I’m writing is because as I’ve shared (timidly) my new belief in EC, I’ve been attacked with “carbon-14 dating isn’t reliable.”

I’ve tried to find articles on this but, quite frankly, the science is over my head and often written from a naturalistic perspective. I’d love some resources on the reliability of Carbon-14 dating, different ways of dating, etc.

Thanks all!

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum, Austin! This is a great place to kick these kinds of questions around in the presence of people (some of them scientists in relevant fields) who can either give you a direct answer, or else direct you to some other resource that can. I’m not such an expert but have read enough to perhaps at least know a thing or two about it.

One of the complaints often heard about dating methods (especially C-14) is that some specially known sample that gets submitted ends up being dated at some obviously ridiculous value. Then the artifact is eagerly admitted as evidence that such dating obviously can’t work. What they fail to take into account is that various dating methods work for various and different ranges of age. “Aha”, says the skeptic. So you have to presume how old the rock is before your test can tell you it is that old! And off he runs to proclaim the circular logic that has amazingly been overlooked by the entire establishment of experts carrying out these measurements. But this argument just doesn’t do the work that its proponents want it to do.