BioLogos Irony (YEC/OEC)

This is my first time posting. And first and foremost, I would like to thank Biologos for their maturity and loving approach, and that they understand that the most important thing in life is to know God and become reconciled to Him through our faith in His Son Jesus. All the rest of this is just fun things to ponder, but is no reason to cut people down or cause strife.

That being said, I watched a video from Francis Collins, and I thought it was interesting for him to say that many think science and religion have a firewall in between them (you have to choose to support one or the other, but you can’t support both), and he is a ‘founder’ of Biologos and the ideal that science and religion, can and do marry. Which I agree with.

What I found ironic is that he seemed to created his own firewall that OEC (old earth creation) vs. YEC (young earth creation). However, I do think they also can, and do marry.

Dr. Collins speaks of how God is beyond/outside of time and space when He created the universe. So why can’t the earth be BOTH ~6000 years old AND 4.5 million years old? Why can’t the universe be BOTH 13.7 billion years old AND ~6000 years old?