Young Earth Creationism, Old Earth Creationism, and Evolutionary Creation (YEC, OEC, and EC)

Hi, My name is Priscilla, I am a high school student studying in a Christian school. In my bible class, we learned about YEC, OEC, and EC. Which of the three views (Young Earth Creationism, Old Earth Creationism, and Evolutionary Creation) is most familiar or comfortable for you? Why? I still don’t really know which one is comfortable for me. I’d like some help figuring out which one is comfortable for me. How do I better understand YEC, OEC, and EC? Thanks! :wink:

1 Like

Welcome! I was YEC for about 17 years or so until I started homeschooling my kids. I ran into science and history questions that didn’t make sense from the YEC viewpoint. I went looking at YEC websites and got some books from the church library on the subject, but my concerns were not satisfactorily answered. Then I looked at the mainstream scientific views, and everything fit together and made sense.

Now it took me a while to see how exactly that fit in with Genesis 1-11. I started reading other interpretations, and eventually I was able to step back out of the YEC version of the text and see something entirely different. I got the same overarching message, of course, but in the details I started to get more out of the text once I put away the YEC version. I do think Adam and Eve are historical, though I think there’s a lot of figurative language being used there. I see a clear literary framework being used in Genesis 1. So overall, I see no conflict between mainstream science, including evolutionary biology, and the Bible. And once I allowed myself to learn mainstream science, it actually gave me even more awe and wonder for God’s creation. I didn’t have to say, “That’s not real” about things. I could now say, “God is amazing”.

6 Likes