William lane craig arguments

Hello everyone!
I am new to his forum and i wonder what you guys think of the arguments WLC gives.
Do they convince anyone? What do they achieve? Do they mean anything to you?
I would love replies from Christians,atheists,agnostics…

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum! Good question, and while I am not knowledgeable enough to comment on your question , will be interested in following. Here is a YouTube of his stance concerning evolution:

Interesting stance! And thanks!

I think Craig’s arguments are pretty solid, especially the Kalam Cosmological Argument, Fine-Tuning Argument and historical evidence regarding the resurrection of Jesus. I usually find his resources on his website reasonablefaith.org to be highly helpful, especially his debates where he whoops around atheists on the daily.

I like Craig. I’d say Plantinga is probably my favourite theistic philosopher, but Craig is still good.

1 Like

I think the Kalam argument fails, for reasons Sean Carroll points out here:

I’ve seen TMM’s video as he most amazingly selects which parts of the Carroll-Craig debate he shows. I’d recommend actually watching the full debate for yourself.

1 Like

As an atheist, the Kalam Cosmological Argument produces more questions than it answers. Just a short list:

1. Does everything that exists really need a cause?
  2. Why is a Creator deity the only proposed uncaused cause? Why couldn’t the uncaused cause or the eternal process be something like M-branes, or some impersonal and natural process?
  3. Excluding God from needing a cause looks a lot like special pleading.

On top of that, it isn’t very convincing because it starts with a conclusion and looks for premises that get to that conclusion. God just appears out of nowhere in the argument instead of flowing logically from the premises. The only way I see of getting to God as the cause of the universe is if you start with the belief that God caused the universe.

3 Likes