What is wrong with Dawkins’ selfish gene metaphor

Apparently, natural selection acting on populations to randomly determine which lineages go forward may not be the only force at work in evolution. Organisms appear capable in some circumstances of adapting their genomes in response to pressures to some degree. I find this surprising but not alarming. I’m no scientist so I wonder what those of you who are think of this. Is it credible?

2 Likes

Oh, ho! You are now ripe for Greg Bear’s “Darwin’s” books.

I still have the one I checked out of the SF library. But when would I read it? Too many pans on the stove already. I’ve always liked good nonfiction but in the last several years have learned to love good fiction. My fear is that this will be fiction in the service of a rational agenda, essentially propaganda. Am I being paranoid?

1 Like

Put down your guard. Bear is wonderful. In the private thread where we talked a it with Martin about Bear’s books, i quoted a section I think will particularly speak to you. What he does in that passage would be anathama to Asimov.
Bear is an entirely different world for me , but a very good one.

• “Neo-Darwinistic Determinism” [Richard Dawkins’ Selfish Gene] vs. “The Third Way: Stochasticity” [Denis Noble].
1 Like

Most evolutionary biologists I know take articles such as this as a tempest in a teapot. Of course, one is always learning new details of genetic mechanisms, but this doesn’t overturn the basic ideas of Darwin (or Dawkins) of evolution by natural selection. Here’s a response by Jerry Coyne to such articles (there was one that appeared in the Guardian a few years ago):