What is the Theological Meaning of Creation in Scripture?

If the creation accounts in Scripture are not meant to communicate scientific and historical details the way we expect science and history to be written today, what are they meant to communicate?
This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://biologos.org/blogs/jim-stump-faith-and-science-seeking-understanding/what-is-the-theological-meaning-of-creation-in-scripture

I’m happy to hear your thoughts about the doctrine of creation. What makes sense and what troubles you about Fergusson’s (or my) points?

I just appreciate the clarification and articulation of this subject. I, like millions of others, believed in the young-earth, completely literal reading of Genesis as a kid and into my adult life. It has only been over the past few years that I really started to question the logic of it all compared to the scientific evidence/facts about the age of the earth, etc. I am still learning and growing, so I appreciate the conversation and the information. Thanks!

1 Like

It seems like one has to begin with some other questions about the creation narratives before examining the theological meaning. To begin, why are there two creation stories at all? It seems like God could have done the job in one story and been done with it. Something happened that inspired a second author to write a second and vastly different story. And then there was the redactor - the poor fellow who got stuck trying to make the two versions cohere and appear as theologically consistent as he could. Fortunately, he seems to have considered both stories as sacred so he could only add material to achieve this task, and not remove anything. A close reading thus allows one today to reasonably separate the contributions of all three. For example, the redactor apparently composed the Eden river narrative (Gen. 2:10-14).