What is the best Bible translation?

I am new to the Bible of course, so I thought I’d ask which Bible translation is the best quality, and is the best translated from Hebrew/Greek/Aramaic?

Here is a blog that is interesting as background:

3 Likes

I heard that the Jerusalem Bible is one of the best.

1 Like

“Best translation” for what purpose? There is no objectively “best” translation, just translations that meet their translation goals to more or less degree.

3 Likes

You shouldn’t use just one translation. There are a number of excellent ones out there and they’re available online at no cost. Biblegateway.com

And I’d recommend getting at least one good study bible that includes the Apocryphal books.

2 Likes

Multiple translations also available at http://www.biblehub.com/

I don’t know if the selection of Bibles overlaps.

I’ve been reading the New King James dating back to the early 80’s. Following the realization that my eyes are getting as weak as my age is old, I began reading a smart phone bible, called- MySword. The first version was on my windows phone. I’ve since moved to Android, and use the MySword for Android.
I’ve since been introduced to the World English Bible, aka, WEB.
I will say, if you want a paper copy, and you’re new to the bible-- focus with the basics. Don’t try to bite off more than you can handle, and I say this from experience.
I like the smart phone version, for a few reasons.
1- I can change the font to be as large as my eyes needed to not strain.
2- MySword has at least 70 translations, including, Greek, Hebrew, as well as inter-linear.
3- it’s free.
4- It also has a lot of study tools, maps, commentaries, etc…
5- all free.
oh… of course this all comes back to your phone, if you use android or not. I’m not impressed with the IOS version. But that’s probably because I’m not as familiar with the iphone/ipad, even though I do have an Ipad, and use Mac OSX.