What are your thoughts on this article?

http://www.collective-evolution.com/2016/02/07/physicists-examine-consciousness-conclude-the-universe-is-spiritual-immaterial-mental/

I thought this article was interesting, but I’d like to hear your thoughts on it. It’s hardly scientific or religious, but I’d like to see how this idea fits with your views.

“Be the first to respond”…

1. Like the foundation sentence “I think therefore I am”, I do believe that a non-scientific examination of the Cosmos is a justifiable motivation to believe in a Divine Consciousness, the immaterial nature of something awfully important in the Universe.

BUT

1. I do not believe a SCIENTIFIC examination (so far) can provide SCIENTIFIC justification for such beliefs.
1 Like

Hello Quincy,
I’d say I agree with @gbrooks9 As a theoretical physics graduate, I spent some time thinking about quantum physics and its implications. Honestly, the topic still confuses me and I cannot claim to have a good intuition for it. Still, I’ll share some thoughts.

The article uses the double split experiment to illustrate the role of consciousness into collapsing a quantum wave function. Yet, I don’t think I quite agree with this point. In the classical double split experiment, ‘measurement’ causes the wave function to collapse. Some consider this measurement as a conscious process, but in my opinion this is not necessary. Rather it’s a physical interaction that gives information about the state of the system. So for me, the link to consciousness is not yet so clear, though I haven’t had time to look into some of the articles that are quoted.

Cheers,
Guus