Uneducated people at church led to my crisis of faith

Greetings,

I’m a biologist living in a small country, with a B.Sc., M.Sc. and PhD degrees. I started to believe in God about several years ago, after I got involved in apologetics. But recently my faith began shaking.

Why? Because of stupid people in the church.

I recently found out that a long-time friend of me and my wife has become a Flat Earther. We had a long argument about that and the result is that we rarely talk and even greet each others. Later I found out that he’s not the only one!!! A lot of people have started watching those stupid Youtube videos and are accepting the Flat Earth idiocy.

I can’t tolerate pseudoscience, but I try to accept people regardles, even if they’re antivaxxers, climate deniers, moon hoaxers, chemtrailsers… but flat earth is too much for me.

And this is my crisis of faith:1. how in the name of everything that’s holy, could I trust their testimonies about miracles, belief in God, spiritual experience, if they’re so stupid and can’t understand how the world works??

1. How could a stupid person have any worth in the eyes of God? Does God really tolerate stupidity, does he accept people regardless of that?

2. Why are people created with different IQ? Why do some have IQ above 140, while others below 75? What’s the good thing about this?

Hello, RoundEarth.

I sometimes toss around words like “stupid” or “idiot” a bit too casually, even if just in my own mind – though sometimes I have spoken in the same harsh terms to which you give voice. It really sobers me, though, to recollect all-too-easily a lot of cringe-worthy episodes of my own life where my own stupidity in this or that was on full display. That is one big restraint for me that helps me summon up some grace – knowing that I am probably looking in a mirror when I judge others.