Understanding Genesis 1, the state of early earth

Genesis 1:2
The earth was without form and void, and darkness was over the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters.

If we assume that Genesis 1 was written by Moses and he received a revelation from God during his 40 days in mt Sinai and if we assume that Genesis 1 is what Moses was seeing in that revelation, we can check whether Genesis 1 and science of early earth are actually compatible. I must confess that i am not a scientist though I enjoy reading about science so I need input from the “know how” people about this.

In Genesis 1:2, the revelation was centered on earth. It was covered with water, and it was dark.
So, I assume that this is a stage where

• the universe was about 9-10 billion years old already
  • galaxies had formed. The solar system was in place already
  • sun and all other planets had formed already though it was invisible for the reason that would follow.

Question:

• was earth covered with water in the early period?
  • was the atmosphere covered with Co2 such as no light from sun or star can penetrate the surface hence the darkness?

Hey Miekhie, interesting topic for discussion. You said in your OP:

Often times a lot of disagreement can happen because discussion partners do not have shared assumptions. Or do not take the time to explain why they assume certain things.

There are a lot of big assumptions in the paragraph above, and most of the people who respond here will not share some or all of those. Perhaps, it would be useful to get some insight into what leads you to assume the above as a ‘givens’? Does that make sense?

5 Likes

You left out another major assumption. The revelation given to Moses was intended to convey scientific truth about the early Earth. There is no basis for making this assumption so everything after falls apart.

6 Likes