The Science of Memory and Our Expirences of God

Confession: one of my guilty pleasures is that I like to listen to Podcasts/videos that deconstruct conspiracy theories… especially if the hosts have a dry sense of humour. Reader please note, I am not a conspiracy theorist… anymore

One particular episode addressed conspiracies trying to explain the Mandela Effect, which is a phenomenon where a group of people share a collective false memory.

In the process of deconstructing the Mandela Effect conspiracies (everything from time travel, to quantum entanglement, and parallel universes colliding!) the hosts talked a bit about the science of memory.

Now, I am not an expert, so forgive me if I garble this, but supposedly, when we remember something, we are not remembering the event as it happens on say 1st June 1995. Instead, what we are actually recalling is our previous recollection of that event and the emotions and impressions we felt as we remembered it. And so the memory changes to one degree or another every time we bring it back from deep storage. I’ve probably not explained that very well.

There does seem to be some truth in this, for example, when I think of my wife walking down the aisle on our wedding day, the image I see in my mind is actually a photo we have in our wedding album. The same is true when I think about the day my sons were born.

This got me thinking… There is very much an experiential element to Christianity and every Christian has a story about a meaningful, personal experience of God. This might be a conversion story/testimony, an ecstatic experience, or even a meaningful sense of God’s presence on a particularly difficult day. In my pastoral experience, these events help people to trust in and affirm God’s promises towards his people in the Bible.

[TLDR]