The Necessity of Evolution and Resurrection

I’m relatively new to learning about theistic evolution. One compelling argument I have heard to support the intersection of theistic evolution and theology is the idea that evolution was how God was able to create biological free-willed persons with the capacity for love. If I’m understanding correctly, the evolutionary struggles homindis went through allowed for modern humans to evolve to have the capacity to bear God’s image and be able to love Him freely. I find that quite beautiful.

This kind of opens up a discussion on resurrection for me though. If evolution was needed to create people with free-will in God’s image with the capacity to love, how does the resurrection work? The resurrection is God using a miracle to (re)create bodies for us and make us whole again. It’s up for debate whether this includes God (1) reusing atoms and molecules to resurrect us or (2) making something from scratch whether physical or spiritual. However, it does posit the question, if we believe that God is able to (re)create human beings in His image, making their bodies and their minds (as He does in the resurrection), why was evolution necessary? Why was evolution the tool that God used to make humans in His image, if (as I believe) He is also capable of using a miracle to make human beings?

Would love a discussion!

2 Likes

If you look in a woodworker’s shop you will find a wide variety of tools. Why? Different tools have different uses. I believe God used a natural process to produce our natural bodies. As the Psalm says, “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.” When it comes to our resurrection body that will be a supernatural process for sure. So different body different tool. I see no reason why we have to limit the tools that God can use.

And welcome to the forum.

2 Likes