The mathematical probability of Evolution?

Soon, at my Christian School, my friends dad is coming in to my biology class to give us the mathematical probability of a water animal becoming a land animal or something like that. Obviously He is gonna say that it is probably impossible or nearly impossible because everyone there and their parents are anti evolution. What do you guys know about the “mathematical probability” of a water animal becoming a land animal? I want to be able to know if the probability is truly low or if it’s higher than young earth creationists claim.

2 Likes

So I am a computational biologist and am very curious what he will say. Please do reproduce it here.

I would ask him…

1. Where did he gets his formulas from? How does he know they are accurate?
  2. Where did he get the numbers he plugs into his formula? How does he know they are accurate?
  3. What are the simplifications he is assuming in his math? How does he know these simplifications do not make his conclusion invalid?
  4. How does he “validate” his math’s predictions? How could he know if he made an error?

To be clear, his math is wrong because it cannot be justified. He cannot have scientifically valid answers to these questions. Also, propose this alternative hypothesis:

“It is possible for land animals to evolve into water animals over billions of years (and vice versa), but in our world didn’t because the world is <10,000 years old.”

1. What does he think of this hypothesis, and why is he so certain it is false?
  2. If he insists it violates Scripture, ask him how? (it does not).
  3. If he claims the Bible says that species “reproduce after their own kinds”…