Struggling With My Faith

Good morning.
This is my first time posting.
I’ve been listening to the BioLogos podcast for a while. I’m almost finished with The Language of God.
I’m really struggling with my faith and I’m reaching out to get perspectives from other Darwinist Christians.

I grew up in a very conservative evangelical non-denominational church. My family prescribed to the Intelligent Design view point.
When I was 18, I started dating a seminary grad student who convinced me that YEC was the only biblical worldview. (We eventually broke up)
I went on to get a BS in Biology, and then a MS in Wildlife Biology.
I held on to this YEC view, following ICR and others.
As I have developed my faith, I’ve come to prescribe to the Anglican way.
Changing my religious affiliation has opened up all this doubting in my mind…
I’ve also started my PhD in Biomedical Science.
Developing in my scientific training, I can no longer deny that evolution is our origin story.

I cannot articulate the depth of my doubting, only to say I’m questioning everything I’ve ever been taught and prescribed to.

My biggest questions are:
What does it mean for our relationship with God if he just watched life on earth for millions of years, watching natural selection occur until hominids evolved to the “right” place to call them “humans” and “create” them in his image?

• This established for me this idea that God just sits back and watches us squirm and evolve until we pique his interest. That doesn’t insight this close relationship the bible talks about.

What does it mean if everything in Genesis 1-10ish is just myth? Is the Fall real? Is sin real? What is sin then? What other teachings in the bible are not real? Can I even trust the bible at all?

If anyone has struggled with these questions, how did you reconcile it and fully devote your mind and soul to God and Christ Jesus?

10 Likes

Hey, welcome to the forum! I’m not especially active here…but I’ll venture a part of a reply…