Should we trust "science" less?

I realize I may be stirring the hornet’s nest here, but I wanted to ask for some advice or thoughts on what is causing me to be a bit cynical about research as a whole. As a researcher, I care a lot about “science,” but I’m becoming more skeptical that I can trust the results of any journals (including mainstream journals with a good historical reputation).

Own the surface, the scientific method seems like (and in my view, is) a reliable and trustworthy way of choosing between different theories and models. I often imagine different hypothesis as different buildings, each supported by their own “floors” of assumptions and previous work. The scientific method works by “shaking” each building (hypothesis) and exposing it to stress and possible weak points. Buildings that fall apart are obviously not as strong, while those that remain standing after repeated trials are more trustworthy. As David Hume said, A wise man apportions his beliefs to the evidence,” and similarly scientific theories that have stood up to repeated attempts to falsification deserve more trust.

As great as this methodology is on paper, it is not always practiced, even in respected scientific circles and journals. Funding for repeating experiments is often difficult to obtain (and researchers have a greater incentive to do “original” work instead of reproducing someone else’s work), so subjecting a theory to tests may not happen as often as it should. Furthermore, even when replication is attempted, it is often not successful, calling into question the credibility of theories built on results that cannot or have not been replicated (the reproducibility crisis). In some fields, doing a repeated experiment or even an audit requires access to additional data or code (that is often unpublished), expensive equipment, and access to materials that are not easily obtained.