Rewording origins/science sentences

Hi! I’m new to this forum but the things I have read and studied lately have really resonated with me (Language of God, Coming to Peace with Science) and I appreciate the work of BioLogos and having this space to discuss and learn more. I’m still learning and would love some input/feedback on how to reword some things that are part of my kids’ curriculum (elementary aged). We’re part of a national Christian homeschool co-op in which the children learn weekly memory phrases for history, science, math, English, etc. Coming up in a few weeks are phrases related to origins that aren’t sitting right with me. They seem to present a skewed perspective of evolution and to create a false dichotomy between intelligent design/evolution.
The phrases are in Q/A format and are as follows:
Q: What does the theory of evolution rely on?
A: The theory of evolution relies on the belief that life began as a chance combination of non-living things.
Q: What does the theory of intelligent design rely on?
A: The theory of intelligent design relies on the belief that life began as a result of intention and purpose.
I’d appreciate any thoughts as far as how to reword these to make them more accurate and a better representation of the EC perspective. At this point, this is just for my own family’s benefit and for how I present the info to my kids. Thank you!

2 Likes

Hello! Welcome to the forum. I’m glad you’re learning and finding places that welcome discussions about faith and science.

I sympathize about needing to find a different way to word things for kids… so many homeschool curricula simply assume a young-earth viewpoint.