Reconciling scientific order of events with Genesis

Hello! I am a freshman in college about to study biochemistry. Actually, I move in the day after tomorrow and I have some questions before I jump from my Christian-homeschooled life into one of science and wonder.

I understand science says that after the Big Bang, matter started to form in wonderful and mysterious ways. This matter accumulated under its own gravity to start the fusion reactions now seen in stars everywhere. This fusion reaction created the different kinds of elements we see today in the planets. This is beautiful and makes perfect sense to me that God would use the stars as a sort of furnace of creation.

However, the order of events in Genesis is considerably different and I’m having trouble figuring it out. Genesis has the creation of the earth well before the creation of stars. How can this be if the stars themselves made the rock the earth is made of?

I’m okay with interpreting Genesis as an allegory, but the different order of cosmic events is something I can’t quite reconcile just yet. Can someone explain this?

Thanks.

2 Likes

The obvious, not all rocks are made from the stars.

Or, the earth was first only created as a potential, and then this potential earth guided the rock formation by stars towards realizing this potential.

But actually “poof” creation of the earth, that things appear at once fully formed, should also be considered. There is an overriding law of the universe which says that the totality of the universe can only be zero. For example, an action has an equal and opposite reaction, giving a totality of zero. Meaning you can have something, an action and a reaction, while the totality of it is still nothing. Creatio ex nihilo, and, ex nihilo nihil fit. Creation from nothing and from nothing comes nothing.