Question for Dennis about population genetics

Hi Dr. Venema, @DennisVenema
I just purchased your book on the historical Adam and am trying to develop a basic intuition about population genetics (I’m a theoretical chemist by training). In particular, I’d like to get a back-of-the-envelope calculation to show why the number of SNPs in the human genome rules out a single human ancestral pair. But I’m having trouble showing that.

Imagine we start with a single human pair that reproduces to create a population of N=10,000 (to simplify matters, we can assume that all of these individuals are clones). The mutation rate produces about 100 single-point mutations in each new individual, so in the first generation of our N=10,000 population, there will be about 10^6 single-point mutations (assuming no overlap). After 100 generations, that will amount to about 10^8 single-point mutations (again, assuming no overlap, which still seems reasonable given that the human genome has a length of about 6*10^9). From what I gather, there are about 10^7 known SNPs, so we’ve easily achieved more than enough mutations in only 100 generations.

However, from what I understand, single-point mutations are only counted as SNPs if their variants exist in some significant fraction of the population (say, 1%). Although our N=10,000 person population now has more than enough single-point mutations, they often exist in only one individual, which would not be nearly sufficient for them to qualify as SNPs. So we now need to figure out how long it takes and how probable it is for a single point mutation to spread to 1% of the population.