Public health in biblical times

Hi all,
Bit of an odd podcast listener. I’m an agnostic veterinarian with slight Quaker/Unitarian leanings, but in terms of religion/worldview, I do identify as a humanist. I do have an interest in science and religion. But I was wondering if anyone knows of any papers/commentaries on public health in the bible. Failing that, are there any academics who would be interested in collaborating?

The Bible treats the whole person: body, mind and soul. And the latter of these three is the most important (Matthew 10:28). In today’s world the soul is being increasingly seen as non-existent which is detrimental to public health. Humanists who ignore an entire sphere of being are just being inhuman.

2 Likes

That would be because there is no evidence consistent with a belief in a non-physical puppet master controlling the body. All the evidence tells us there is no such thing.

There is plenty of evidence however for the existence of the human mind which is not the brain but a physical living entity in the medium of linguistic communication with its own needs and inheritance passed to the next generation.

If there is a spiritual aspect to our existence (and I believe there is), it is not something inhabiting the body or the space-time mathematical structure of the physical universe and its connection to the physical is almost entirely epiphenomenal. To that we can look for continued existence beyond the physical according to Paul’s description of resurrection to a spiritual body in 1 Corinthians 15.

Christians who ignore an entire sphere of human existence (i.e. mental health), which actually does exist, are just being inhuman.

2 Likes