Perfect God, Imperfect Creation

Hello, all. As I’m still fairly new to theistic evolution, I’ve got plenty of questions. Coming from a YEC background, I used to view the initial creation as being the result of a perfect God creating a perfect creation and that it was MAN’s responsibility for the creation becoming imperfect. Now as a TE, I admit man brought the curse of sin on himself and humanity, though I believe there was plenty of animal and plant death before the Fall.

The question I’m wrestling with as a TE, though, is: how could a perfect immortal God create an imperfect, dying creation? I know logically it makes sense that everything has to die, especially when plants are being “given” for animals to eat, as the Genesis account says (for one example). But as a former YEC, this idea is hard to understand and accept that a perfect, immortal God could create an imperfect, dying creation.

@Learner

Name something that is imperfect… how about a mud dam? Temporary, crude and only partly effective in keeping water upstream. Are you saying you don’t think God could make a mud dam?

What are the other criterias for imperfection? Mortality? Something that is going to DIE … something NOT divine … is obviously imperfect. Are you saying you don’t think God could make mortal things?

In fact, Eden was FULL of mortal things … otherwise, there wouldn’t have been a need for the Tree of Life. Adam and Eve were expelled so that they would NOT become as Gods… being immortal.

What is PERFECTION? Isn’t it the status of the divine? God can certainly make divine things … so the question we might ask (even for YECs ) is what did God want when he created so much that was NOT divine.

George