Matter & Energy

Bear with me, I’m not a scientist. Just a curious person who reads a lot…

I’ve read that human beings are a combination of matter and energy.
I’ve also read that there is a set amount of energy in the universe. The number doesn’t go up or down beause energy can’t be created or destroyed, only transformed into a different type of energy (again, ‘what I’ve read’).

So when we die, is it possible that we become energy without matter, like radio waves? Where does our energy go? Where did it come from when were born?

When God created us in His own image, was He referring to our energy rather than matter?

1 Like

Not according to Christianity.

It gets ‘absorbed’ by the ‘system’. Several thousands calories, depending on size, all up for grabs.

From biological mother

1 Like

One belief of being made in the image of God is that an image of a god is an idol. A idol is a representation of a god on this earth. So it’s thought that we are representations of God on this earth and that we are to bear his image, which is to do his will. So by loving god, loving our neighbors and being stewards of the earth sr are being the image of god. It’s not about what we are made of or how we look but how we live.

When we eat an apple, we consume its energy in the form of calories. Those calories then go to hormone production, to building muscles, and to things like producing tears or maintaining our body temperature. It’s even things like when we snuggle up to our pet and feel their warmth, that’s energy being transferred by heat. So when we die, depending on how our corpses are handled depends on where our energy goes. If we were dumped in a grave and allowed to decompose naturally into the soil our energy would be lots of heat as we composted and would become calories for worms and even fungi and so on. If we are cremated, our energy is mostly consumed by the fire like a log.