Learning to “Look Up” with Courtney Ellis

Pastor Courtney Ellis started birding during the pandemic. Her life was forever changed the moment she started looking up. She found hope, amidst grief.

3 Likes

As an ornithologist by profession and birder by passion (since 3 years old), I can relate to this article. Especially the phrase “Birding became this dance from delight to grief and then back again”.

2 Likes

Thanks for the article.

I will be participating as an amateur in:

in Waterloo Region in southern Ontario.

1 Like

Birding around here is depressing: out where I do my conservation the number of bird species has been decreasing, and the same seems to be true in town – though I suspect that in town it has to do with the overall bird population decreasing, largely due to people with “outdoor” cats plus the strays that people feed.

I very much enjoyed Global Big Day. My friend, who is a birder, counted 43 species. I will say that the most interesting for me was a Bald Eagle, which I have never seen before in southern Ontario. We were at a fairly wild forested area, near a river, with tall trees, one of which clearly had an eagle’s nest. I don’t have a good camera with telephoto lens, so sorry no photo.

The other thing I discovered, that I’m sure all ornithologists know about, is the Merlin Bird Identification smartphone app, from the Cornell Lab of Ornithology.

2 Likes

I know Courtney from Threads! And she worked with my brother at a camp back in the day. How fun to see her featured here.

1 Like

There is at least one pair of Red Kites that soar overhead where we live. When you hear them cry you can’t help but look up.

Richard

2 Likes

I have glimpsed one of those once, but it’s difficult to get a picture of a bird that disappeared into a field while one is riding a bus, so no pictures yet.

They are either too far away to photograph or I haven’t got the camera ready. The bigger problem is when I am driving. It is so tempting to look up then!

Richard