Is evolution real?

Hi I am a student curious on learning about whether evolution is a thing if there was a theory of evolution. It was based on an ape and humans being related (Lucy). They say that Lucy is an ape that is a human ancestor.

1 Like

Welcome @bigballerqueen -

It’s good to ask such questions. The scientific theory of evolution is actually much, much bigger than the ancestral relationship between early hominids and us; it also encompasses

• the relationship between the delta variant and the original alpha variant of Sars-Cov-2, and the relationship between the alpha variant and the viruses in Chinese bat populations;
  • the relationships between dolphins and whales and their common ancestors ~30 million years ago;
  • the relationships between modern hippos and whales and their common ancestor 60 million years ago…

In fact, it encompasses all of biological life as we know it.

As a Christian, I believe that God created the universe, and He created the principles that govern the universe that He continues to uphold. Among these principles are the curved space-time of relativity, the probabilities of quantum physics, the laws of chemistry, and evolution.

Does that help? Are you looking for more depth on what the theory of evolution is, or are you wanting more details on the evolutionary relationships among hominids?

Best,
Chris Falter

2 Likes

If you look at other groups (not to say that the Australopithecus-Homo transition isn’t clear), you can see some extremely obvious sequences, such as those found in Chesapecten, Otodus, the Argopecten gibbus species group, Therizinosaurs, and numerous others.

2 Likes

It’s a thing all right.

2 Likes

I would say that Lucy is a hominid, which means that Lucy was our ancestor who was more; like us than like an ape. Apes and humans do have a common ancestor. Lucy was a link to that common ancestor.

I hope that answers your questions. If not ask some more.

2 Likes