Information = Entropy

As a quick introduction, my field of study is computational biology, with specific expertise in applying information theory to biology. My PhD is specifically in “Information and Computer Science”, with emphasis (in my case) on information. I graduated in 2007 from the PhD and have been working full time here since 2009.

One of the most surprising things for me over the last several years is the shift in anti-evolution arguments towards “information theory” arguments. Here is where great confusion abounds. And I thought I would give people a quick map of the situation.

To kick this off, I think this particular conversation is instructive…

Continuing the discussion from What is the Evidence for Evolution?:

I find this to be a very entertaining and instructive exchange. First off, information actually is exactly entropy. If we correctly compute information, we have just exactly computed the entropy. If we can exactly compute entropy, we have computed the information. This is the most important and fundamental result of Information Theory, laid out in the classic paper by Shannon: http://math.harvard.edu/~ctm/home/text/others/shannon/entropy/entropy.pdf.
So ENTROPY = INFORMATION.

Of course, this is in Information Theory, not Thermodynamics, that this result was first made. So it is no surprise that our friend here with a 1975 thermodynamics PhD is confused. So we find that the 2nd law of thermodynamics actually does (nearly) guarantee that information increases with time. I can explain the intuition of this to the curious, but it actually makes 100% sense when you understand what information is.

Now the very interesting thing about information (and entropy) is that has historically been derived several different ways.

1. Thermodynamics (the first derivation of entropy)
  2. Shannon Information (usually computed assuming IID)
  3. Kolmogorov Complexity
  4. Minimum Description Length
  5. Compression (e.g. integer coding)