How to start embracing God?

Hi there,

I am new to these forums, and I hope I am posting this in the right place. Recently, I have been struggling with some questions related to religion and science. I am hoping you can offer me some advice. I was not raised with any belief in God. I am a physicist, and science has influenced my worldview. My wife is Christian, and has been trying to share with me. We have been going to church, and have been reading Bible passages together. I feel attracted to some of the Christian teachings, and can see that my wife gets a lot of support and strength from God. Sometimes, I feel a universe without God would be a cruel place, and I get scared when I think about it. I would like to share the beliefs of my wife, but I am still having trouble accepting them.

I have been looking into arguments for the existence of God. This has convinced me that there is no fundamental disagreement between religion and science, but has also made me feel a little overwhelmed. Every time I think about whether God exists, I get stuck on the most difficult issues, such as fine-tuning and the origin of the universe, the nature of human consciousness, interpretation of quantum physics, or the nature of morality. These issues are so complex that I find it difficult to derive any kind of certainty from them. It seems still such a big jump towards embracing the Christian God.

My wife has been very supportive, but just like myself she feels a little overwhelmed by all my questions. Her faith in God comes more natural to her, and does not require her to ask these questions. I would be very grateful if some of you could give me some advice, or point me towards sources that might help me. This seems like a place where people have thought about these things. Perhaps some of you have even been in a situation similar to mine. It would be great if you could share a little about why you are a Christian.

Best,
Guus

Hi Guus, welcome!