How I Finally Told My Church I’m an Evolutionary Creationist—and How I Should Have

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://biologos.org/blogs/archive/how-i-finally-told-my-church-im-an-evolutionary-creationistand-how-i-should-have

Thanks for the humility expressed in self examination and trying to find another way to talk with people in your church.

I find the same tendencies as you indicated. I’m not a pastor, but probably am the only EC in my congregation.
"But I also know that my motives were not entirely pure. As a pastor I relish the role of provocateur: “Here’s something you need to think about.” But is it always true that every Christian in my church needs to think about (in this case) the proper interpretation of Genesis 1? Yes, good teachers raise important questions, but they do so helpfully and lovingly. I didn’t raise the issue out of a love for my congregation and a desire to see them whole before Christ. No, I mostly raised the issue because it made me feel important, smart, and counter-cultural in my own setting.

"In fact—if I’m being completely honest—as much as I love my church members, sometimes I don’t love them enough. I get frustrated with some of their perspectives, and sometimes vent my frustration by trying to get under their skin with theological questions. It allows me to hide behind the guise of “But these are important topics Christians shouldn’t be afraid of” defense.

“Maybe they are important topics, worthy of discussion. But I should never bring them up simply to prove a point about how right I am.”

Using the book Four Views on Creation, Evolution and Intelligent Design for a discussion study group may be very helpful. May I ask how you implemented discussion? For example, did some from each point of view offer to present research? Who moderated?

Thanks.