How exactly do you see the origin of life? Do you think it just popped into existence, came from natural causes, or something else?

Hello! I’m a student with a random question: how did you envision the origin of life? There’s going to probably be differing answers but I’m curious on what you guys think. I’m just trying to get a grasp on what each person thinks because I have conflicting thoughts on the topic itself.

2 Likes

As I said somewhere else here recently (I have good reasons to believe in God’s providence, even down to the molecular level),

Since I am [an ex-OEC and now an] ‘evolutionary providentialist’, I am not particularly concerned with abiogenesis. God, in his providence and sovereignty over timing and placing could have zapped the necessary precursors with cosmic radiation and then again the resultant intermediates and then whatever (I am certainly not pretending to have a clue about the sequence).

1 Like

I have no science chops so hopefully you’ll hear from some who do. Also, I’m not a theist. Nonetheless I find every movement toward more complexity and freedom -such as the movement from inorganic chemistry to life- absolutely astoudning. The second law of thermodynamics would lead one to expect things to become disordered over time and yet that is not what has happened. Not only the emergence of life but also of cells, and multicellular life and then the emergence of consciousness as the cognitive function becomes complex enough. What is it about the cosmos which makes it swim upstream against the current of entropy? I don’t call it God but I find it awe inspiring.

Abiogenesis. Where’s the conflict Saikias?

And MarkD, things are becoming more entropic over time just fine. There is nothing unnatural about it. All decrease of entropy happens in open systems where the entropy extrinsic to them is increasing. Just step in to a vacuum and see what happens to your entropy. Disorder drives order.