Good and Evil, Towb and Ra

Jeff Brenner of the Ancient Hebrew Research Center says that the Jews of the OT understood the Hebrew word “towb” (English “good”) to mean “functional” and the Hebrew word “Ra” (English “evil”) means “dysfunctional.” While I think those translations make a lot of sense, I’ve not seen anyone other than Brenner or someone quoting him say that.

Any linguistic archeologists out there with input on this?

1 Like

I’m no expert, but from what I understand the original implication and “weight” of “towb” (tov, טוֹב) meant something like “beneficial” or “pleasing” rather than implying “moral good” (a meaning that would attach to the word later. I wonder to what extent our Platonizing of Christianity has pushed us towards the “moral” and away from the “beneficial” (especially, say, when it comes to Genesis 1).

1 Like

I think “Beneficial” is akin to “functional.” It appears that the point of Genesis 1:31 is that when God created the world everything worked as designed in order to benefit the animals and, more to the point, the people who were created in God’s image as His representatives on the earth. There was no evil, dysfunction, or non-beneficial forces acting on the cosmos until people thought they could decide what was beneficial and non-beneficial to the ordered universe instead of following God’s ideas of functional and dysfunctional.

One of the first things God said was functional was a man and woman multiplying humanity and spreading out the Garden of Eden throughout the whole land. Given there was only 2 people in the beginning, it is likely that Eden was maybe 2 or 3 acres. The care of 2 or 3 acres would be a handful for only 2 people. God meant for them to reproduce more people so as to increase the size of the garden, which would all be highly beneficial or functional. In that context, homosexuality would be totally non-beneficial or dysfunctional.