God's Word, God's World - BioLogos

What do the long times spans of the earth and the universe tell us about being a human loved by God in the here and now?

Too many podcasts too little time. Thanks for publishing the transcript, considering my poor hearing

Excellent read to put things into perspective. I like the emphasis on miracles to be: “Miracles are signs and wonders that testify to God’s glory”, not shortcuts for quick fixes, as, as an engineer, I might be impatient but I appreciate the thorough attention to detail that make a quality repair, something that does not just look nice but works and lasts.

I use the miracle of turning water into wine to explore how we look at miracles. What is so impressive in making instant wine, e.g. speeding up the industrial process of making wine. We could appreciate the assembly of the ingredients and looking what is the importance of the base ingredients - like with your sourdough. (note here, its not the yeast that makes the sourdough but the ability of the different cultures in the dough not to outcompete each other but to love one another like thyself). However when we do so we might wonder if the process would add value to them or waste / spoil them, like someone wasting the raw materials for effect. Do we think there is more value in the raw material, e.g. the water of ritual cleansing that cleanses you before God - or in the wine used to entertain greedy party goers, as fine as the wine might be. Would the miracle be to accept this clear and unspoilt water as the the most valuable wine you could ever drink - or the ability to create a fake reality for the sake of human expectations and to show power over the molecular structure of matter? It probably depends on what God one has in mind :slight_smile: