God and Evolution contradict each other?

I believe that God used Evolution to create all things. Even though, as science states, evolution is a completely natural process and random chance. I read somewhere that you can’t hold the view that God created everything through Evolution, because of what I stated above.

I don’t think that’s true. God can do anything He wants so I don’t see that as a valid argument. If Science and Christianity were as incompatible as people claim, we wouldn’t have people like Francis Collins or C.S. Lewis.

I ask because I am questioning the historicity of the Bible, of Christ as well.

Thoughts?

1 Like

I always maintained that evolution was simply a consequence of creating life on Earth. It changes it’s hosts to adapt to an ever-changing World. Sin wasn’t specially created by God yet it is a consequence of free-will. Perhaps evolution is to physical life what sin is to free-will?

I’m still learning myself, but I’m honestly not too bothered by evolution. I actually struggle to understand why evolution became so demonized in the first place. If I was creating life, I would install measures that caused my creations to adapt and grow on their own.
Everything on this planet is a process, evolution is no different.

2 Likes

The idea of randomness gets plenty of air time on these discussion boards. Here is a recent post and discussion you might find interesting: Biochemistry: Randomness and God - Faith & Science Conversation - The BioLogos Forum

If you use the search function on the homepage and type in “randomness” you will get plenty more hits.

1 Like