Genesis Flood- Universal?

Hi all! I’m new to this, so I have a few questions. I’m currently struggling a great deal with reconciling certain things related to the Bible and science. Some here say that the flood wasn’t universal, but I don’t think this is a tenable option. It says within the text that God said that he blotted man , not just humans in one area , from the earth. The problem is , historical context after the flood points to it being 3,000 years ago give or take. But there’s absolutely no way one can get the current population from 4 people 3,000 years ago. If God knew there were other humans on the earth that survived, why did he say he blotted man from the earth instead of all the people in one area? This is very difficult for me to work through, and I’m sorry if I offend anyone with my weak faith. I truly do want to have a relationship with Christ but this makes it very difficult. I don’t want to keep feeling lost. Thank you :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi, Andrew, and welcome to the forum! You are definitely not offending by your questions – this is part of why we are here, because many others here have had similar questions and topics to wrestle through, and many are still wrestling.

In case you haven’t seen it yet, here is one BioLogos take on the flood story: How Should we Interpret the Genesis Flood Account? - Common Question - BioLogos

It’s good to keep in mind that the word that’s often used for “earth” in the flood story can also be translated as “land,” which makes the story look a lot more regional than global. While Genesis is the story of God creating the actual globe and all people, it is also specifically the history of the Jewish people, and so I don’t think it’s too surprising that in some of the stories there would be people elsewhere that are simply not the focus because they are not primarily who the story is about.