Evolution, what is coming after human? AI?

Let’s suppose Darwin’s evolution is somewhat accurate. Then what would come after human? Would human be the last one and after human the course will be totally different? Would it be a super robot that is made by the lower order life - human?

Soon after I graduated, I had more than enough reasons to reject the possibility of a super robot that could be made by human and superior to human and ruling human. But the idea that it can be expected has been floated for a while and getting more attention.

1 Like

Interesting to consider, Shaun. I am a bit more pessimistic that our species will be here long in evolutionary times, no matter what eschatology proves to be accurate. If the old earth remains, perhaps insects will prevail. Or maybe marine mammals, though dolphins do not seem too intent on world domination. Or perhaps dinos through the bird line will make a resurgence.

1 Like

That is the suggestion of Spielberg’s film AI. I consider it to be a definite possibility. I don’t really think machines (or if they are truly intelligent and self-organizing then they might more properly be called electronic lifeforms) are superior to biological life.

I do think we have to be a little more open to future possibilities. For example, I was watching another film called “The Darkest Minds” where they took all the children away from their parents and put them in a prison camp like affair because they were developing scary powers and abilities. Totally unacceptable – unthinkable!

I would consider the beings of the future in Spielberg’s AI film to be human and our children because they were the inheritors of the human mind. I am not a fan of too much anthropomorphism. I don’t think “made in God’s image” has anything to do with our physical shape.

Transhumanism is a somewhat popular topic in theology. A couple years ago I read up on it some.

1 Like