Ethical and Moral Thoughts On De-Extinction?

I am just learning of this possible application of gene editing. This project is claiming they want to try and create a hybrid between a modern day Asian elephant and introduce wolly mammoth DNA to create a hybrid, or resurrected, wolly mammoth. Their aim seems to be to help the permafrost environment and global climate as a whole.

Setting aside your personal view on climate change, what moral and ethical implications do you perceive if such an application is even possible? Scientists bringing back species from extinction? Would God approve of something like this?

2 Likes

It’s an interesting idea, as long as it doesn’t go all Jurassic Park on us or become a case where the “cure” is worse than the problem, but I’d be interested to see how it pans out. I’m not sure how anyone would be able to conclude either way whether God would “approve” any more than we would about most other science experiments.

3 Likes

Yes, it’s not like it’s anything like experimenting on humans.

1 Like

There might be ethical issues with the matter of “recycling” old wooly mamouth DNA. I’m not sure.
I wonder about the ethics of blowing huge amounts of money on something like this, if it’s only for “gee whiz!” effects. If there is a purpose in sight that can help many people, then maybe it’s ok. If it’s because, well, who wouldn’t want to be able to see a living wooly mamouth, then we can continue to deal with the disappointment of extinction — maybe let that be motivating to us.

3 Likes

Good point. Maybe it’s not ethical because of the amount of money involved vs the perceived or actual benefit in a needy world. That’s difficult to quantify.

1 Like

Sounds a little far-fetched. If you want to have a breeding population of mammoths to help the permafrost, you would have to engineer a bunch of them from different sources to get the genetic diversity needed. One may be possible. A little more difficult than introducing wolves to Yellowstone.