Drama between Professor Dave & James Tour on Abiogenesis

I’m a student at Rice so this issue is specifically relevant to me. I was wondering if any of you had any thoughts or reactions between the back-and-forth between science educator Professor Dave and Synthetic-Organic chemist James Tour. I mostly watch their back-and-forth for laughs because it has gotten to be pretty silly.

Dave’s Videos: Response to James Tour: 700 Papers and Still Clueless (Part 1 of 2) - YouTube
Tour’s Videos: Dr. Tour EXPOSES the False Science Behind Origin of Life Research - YouTube

I had always been pretty skeptical about Tour’s personality and claims (mostly hearing about them from other people around me). However I presented some of my concerns to him personally and, to be honest, I thought his response was very reasonable. He told me he wasn’t ruling out a natural explanation for abiogenesis, and his concern was the current way OOL researchers going about doing research and informing the public was misleading and actually hurting the field of OOL.

2 Likes

Way above my pay grade. i did enjoy a recent NOVA show that touched on OOL research and was about my level, That part of the show starts at about the 31 minute mark. Beyond the Elements: Life | NOVA | PBS

My daughter went to Rice, great school.

4 Likes

Very cool. I steered my son toward Rice, but he was graduating from a dual-credit high school and Rice wanted him to start as a freshman. He was impatient and chose SMU. Graduated at 19 and wasted a couple years. What can you do? haha

Not to dive into the “what’s your major” question, but I’m a fan of Elaine Ecklund’s work, if you happen to get the chance to take a class from her. Besides founding the Religion and Public Life Program, she’s now the director of the Boniuk Institute for Religious Tolerance.
https://rplp.rice.edu/people/elaine-howard-ecklund